Porto & Red Fruit Chocolate Crinkles, when the cracks don’t seem to show

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Porto & Red Fruit Chocolate Crinkles – Crinkles al Porto & Cioccolato ai Frutti Rossi

Music: China, Tori Amos. Many of my best, oldest friends live far away from where I live. Before they left here, I ignored the power of distance, but there it is, I can see it now, stronger and deeper. We keep in touch, but distance makes many things invisible – it hides our cracking sides. These chocolate crinkles got me thinking about how beautiful cracks can be – think about your grandma’s lovely tea set, it wouldn’t be the same without them. I love this Tori Amos song, it’s not among her most popular ones, but I think it’s a masterpiece. You’re right next to me, but I need an airplane. I can feel the distance as you breathe. China decorates our table. Funny how the cracks don’t seem to show. You’re right next to me, I think that you can hear me. Funny how the distance learns to grow.

Ingredients: (inspired by a Sigrid Verbert recipe)

220 gr Amedei Toscano Red chocolate

100 gr flour

2 eggs

60 gr brown sugar

40 gr butter

2 Tsb Ruby Porto Barros

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 pinch salt

powdered sugar

Melt together the chocolate, the butter and the porto. Beat the eggs with the brown sugar until fluffy. Add the chocolate/butter mixture. Fold in the flour, the baking powder, the salt and mix well. Place the dough in the fridge for 2 hours. Then form small balls, roll them in the powdered sugar and place them on a baking tray (covered with baking paper). Bake in a 180° C oven for about 20 minutes.

About thecookandtheguitarist

We're Gaia and Andrea and this is the place where we have fun pairing food with music. Gaia - The Cook - is a trained pastry chef and owns a candy shop in the centre of Florence, Italy. Andrea - The Guitarist - is a professional musician, teaches guitar and is a Beatles fanatic.
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Porto & Red Fruit Chocolate Crinkles, when the cracks don’t seem to show

  1. Kiarina says:

    Ma che dolci stupendi ho visto nel tuo blog?!?! Che bella presentazione hai dato ad ognuno, complimenti!

  2. grazie😉 mi fa piacere che ti piacciano! un abbraccio a presto,
    g.

  3. nei tuoi post mi piacciono tantissimo le foto!oltre che le ricette naturalmente:)
    alice

  4. Symposion says:

    che bell’aspetto i tuoi crinkles epoi adoro il porto, oltre che all’interno lo userei anche per accompagnarli, un bel bicchiere ci starebbe proprio bene!

  5. They look awesome!!!! perfect!! I wish I could have a couple of those at my kitchen right now!

  6. redmenace says:

    Wow. I havent’ thought about that song in ages. I was once mistaken for Tori at a rest stop in CA. Very flattering. I wish I was that talented!

    Love the crinkles. Sooo delicious!

  7. oooooh wow! Actually, I do think you have something about her. Love your red hair!

Leave a Reply

